Soldering Supplies…My gathering begins.

For those of you who may not know, I took some soldering classes in January of this year and I’ve since wanted to set up my own workshop to solder silver pieces at home. 

After MUCH research, I have now started to purchase my supplies and I’m SOOOO excited! 

With our (hopefully) upcoming move, I have decided to collect my supplies and materials and will wait to set up shop until we’re in Pennsylvania.  That way, I can take my time collecting what I need, not spend my money all at once, and I won’t have to close AND pack up my shop.

What I have so far, isn’t much, but more is on the way in the mail.  🙂  I need ALL supplies to work with metal and to solder, so my list is longer than just soldering supplies.  In no particular order, this is what I’ve got thus far:
1. ball peen hammer
2. 4×4 steel bench block
3. silver solder – hard, medium, (easy is in the mail)
4. bench vise
5. bench pin with C-clamp
6. pickling acid
7. a bastard file
8. set of pliers
9. letters/numbers stamping set
10. sand paper in three different grades
11. 12×12 silquar soldering board (but it broke in transit, so it’s getting mailed back) 😦

Even though I’m not setting up shop yet, it’s so fun to gather what I need.  It will be great to know that, when I do set up shop, I will !

We’ve been working so hard lately, that we really needed a break.  So, last night, we got Chinese (yay!  no cooking!  And it had been ages since I ate unhealthy Chinese food – it was really good!) and we got a Redbox movie – National Treasure’s sequel, which we give two “thumbs up.”  Tonight it’s back to home improvements…we’re painting all of the doors.

Before I close, I’ll share a picture of what we envision for our Pa. home (minus the lamp post – haha)
and a quote for you to ponder…
“You never know what the future will bring – But you can determine what you will bring to the future.”
~Author Unknown

5 thoughts on “Soldering Supplies…My gathering begins.

  1. Your soldering project sounds very exciting! It will be great to see what you come up with once your all moved and settled. And its great that you have time to think properly about what you need and have a shop around for everything.
    Thankyou for your comments, I certainly know what you mean by being away for too long. Whilst I was busy with uni it seemed so much happened in the blog world, I feel I’m only just catching up with everyone now!
    Very good luck with the move and looking forward to hearing more from you soon!!

Leave a Reply

