Introducing… Sew Flirty!

So Fun!  So Fresh!

I met another new and wonderful artist in the Etsy forums recently, and she’s a FRESH DISCOVERY, having only opened her shop this past April 16th!  So, lets’s give her a warm welcome, take some time to appreciate her artwork, and take some time to get to know her as an artist, and hopefully a friend!  Oh yeah … and MAYBE WE COULD BUY SOME OF HER WORK while we are in her store poking around!  🙂

Her name is Stacey and she is an Idaho native, who recently moved to a mid sized city in Kansas, so her husband could attend school there.  (Bonus for her – there are lots of fabric stores and places to get inspiration from!)  She is a stay-at-home/sew-at-home mom with a one year old boy, “Hudson.”  Like most moms, Stacey spends most of her days chasing Hudson around, with a few free moments to spare, trying to do something creative that provides some mom “freedom” time!  Henceforth came her Etsy store, Sew Flirty…Filled with her stylin’ crafts – modern but usable and may also have a touch of vintage to it.


We all have our crafting beginnings and this is Stacey’s story – “My mom taught me to sew with an old Bernina sewing machine, which I still use.  It is made out of metal, which you don’t see much anymore! I love it though. It works great and is reliable! Other than that, I just like being creative and sewing helps me have an outlet!”

Stacey is new to Etsy, but with regard to balancing her shop with everything else, she says she “just tries to take it one day/item at a time. Otherwise it gets overwhelming.”  She makes lists and tries to tackle at least something on it everyday. “If I do, then it has been a good day!”  I’m with her – I love making lists and crossing things off!  It’s the crossing things OFF the list that motivates me to keep going strong!  It’s sometimes hard though, to balance work with play – or at least to balance the enjoyable aspects of our crafting with the less enjoyable aspects of managing a home-based crafting business.  As I know many of us Etsy people do, Stacey has found that she is “definitely staying up a lot later now that (she) is on etsy!! It is so addicting!”  Don’t we all know it!  Especially when you’re starting out!  It can be such fun!

 

With regard to her favorite materials, she says they are Fabric, fabric, fabric!  “I love to use bright, fun, retro and unique patterns. I love to mix different fabrics that have a commonality and create something with them.”  She gets her inspiration from… “items I use everyday.  I try to find a way to put some flair into them. I also look at vintage patterns which help me give a new twist for common items. Anything that you are already using that can be changed into something more fun will create a fresh new feeling when using that item. I like to change things up and add a little flair to things.”

So, what is her favorite item from her etsy shop?  “Probably my aprons. I only have one listed right now but have a few more in the works. I have enjoyed creating patterns for them that will be flirty in the kitchen or wherever you choose to wear them! I wanted to make it fun to cook, not just another chore! Plus they are such a hot item right now! I do enjoy creating new things and coming up with new ideas though so really, anything I am working on becomes my new favorite item!”

And, what does she love about handmade?  “I enjoy coming up with an idea, then finding just the right materials/fabric to use. It is also about taking the time to put it together just right and seeing the final result! I feel like a lot of love and care goes into handmade and each item has their own personality. There is something unique to them that no one else has. Its kind of like having your own secret!”

Her ways of promoting…  “I try to go on the forums at least a few times each week. I also have a blog at http://sewflirty.blogspot.com that I update regularly. I plan to hand out business cards and offer incentives to repeat buyers.  I am just getting started with promotions though so I am looking into all avenues!”

FINAL STATEMENT FROM STACEY…  “I just always like to add a splash of flair to things. If I feel like the item will accomplish it, then I add it. I think life should always be so fun, so fresh and sew flirty!!”

INCENTIVES FOR CHATTERBOX BLOG READERS… She is offering 10% off to anyone who mentions nicoleleeartistry in their message when they purchase an item from HER ETSY STORE.

One thought on “Introducing… Sew Flirty!

  1. Thanks for letting us know about her shop- she’s got some cool stuff on there.
    I agree about the lists – I’m a big list maker too and I find it’s always feels good when you can cross something off.

Leave a Reply

