Find one thing you’re good at and FOCUS ON IT!

Well, once again, I am thinking of something that one of my old bosses once told me about his secret to achieving success… “Pick one thing that you are good at and focus on it…master it. Don’t be a jack of all trades and master of none.”

I often feel like I am that cliche’, “Jack of all trades and master of none.” I have SO many crafts that I do and many talents that I enjoy. I’ve got big dreams and lots of goals, but I frequently find myself sidetracked and bored with one thing and move onto another. The problem is that I am spreading myself too thin with all of them and do not reach the level of success that I could reach if I could just focus all of my energy and time on one thing.

A Bracelet I made this October 2010

After about a year and a half, I’ve finally started back to spending time on my crafts. I am making jewelry, which is going well at craft shows, but I do not have the kind of time that I used to have to be able to promote my store online. I was painting glassware when I was in Maryland, which went pretty well. I was selling my wine glasses in three venues and people enjoyed them. I love both the jewelry and the glassware, but I fear that I’m beginning to spread myself too thin again. Is it wise to do both? On top of those crafts, I recently agreed to wood burn a plank of wood for an Amish carpenter to use in a bench. If he likes what he sees, we discussed contracting regular work. Again…I’m not staying focused. On top of all that, I also maintain a full time job and have a 9 month old daughter and husband who also require my time and attention. Jeeze Louise! When I type it all out, I really feel quite dizzy!

I am very goal-oriented and I will do well if I can create a clear picture with a concrete, measurable objective in my mind.  I will write it down and…viola!…it happens.  My problem is that, with my artistic talents, I have trouble being decisive and focused, but I’m getting better.  I used to feel as though, when I made a decision, that it meant the DEATH of all other options.  I was employing “all or nothing” thinking, which was not effective.  I’ve since learned that I can focus on one thing and dabble with others in my free time, which keeps me happy.  But, with my jewelry and glassware, I feel confused.  My business cards even indicate that I do both.  I’m just wondering if I should take the advice of an old friend and focus on just one? 

A lady called last night and said she was interested in carrying my wine glasses in her store. I also recently spoke to a winery that is interested in them so I wonder if my time might be better spent on glassware, rather than jewlery?

NLA Tra La La Hand Painted Wine Glasses

I am going to give this some further thought and perhaps you all, who are reading, can give me some of your thoughts on the matter…to pick one or not to pick just one? Would it be too much to do both? 

Also, please share your experiences!  I love hearing from other people!

Leave a Reply

